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Setup: The players arrange their forces according to the instruc5ons in the rulebook; the allied player 
can place only 4 blocks, 1 airplane, and 1 tank in each of the three zones marked by a white star on a 
blue field. Addi5onally, place the two fleets anywhere on the sea zone, flipped with the side showing 
the red stripe visible, already engaged. The rest of the allied forces are kept off the map, ready to be 
used later. 

The Axis player places two blocks and one tank in zone 16; 1 tank, 3 blocks, 1 for5fied line, and 1 
airplane in zone 17. All remaining Axis forces, that is 17 blocks, two tanks, three airplanes, and two 
for5fied lines, are placed as desired. The Italian fleet and the U-boat are posi5oned at sea, not 
engaged. The figure is an example of how the Axis can arrange their forces at the beginning of the 
game: 
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On the turn track, the impulse track, and the combat round track, place a red token on the '1' space; 
place the Axis naval transport counter on the '2' space and the allies one on the '6' space in the 
appropriate track: 

FIRST TURN - IMPULSE 1 - ALLIED 
The allied player moves a tank from zone 19 to zone 15 via naval transport and, in return, moves a 
block from zone 15 to zone 19. Note that the Axis player could have aRempted to intercept these 
naval movements using the Italian Fleet, U-boat, or aircraT, but chooses not to do so. (FIGURA 2) 
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For this movement, the allied player uses two transport points; consequently, the naval transport 
track is updated by moving the marker from space 6 to space 4. 
Having done this, the allied player sets up the aRacks by placing the arrows as shown in the figure 
and begins the combats star5ng from zone 15. (FIGURA 3) 

First combat round: The allied player uses three blocks in the aRack with the support of a tank; in 
total, they roll 3 dice, needing a 5 or 6 to hit. They roll and get   2    5    4  inflic5ng one loss (with a 5). 
The Axis, which has two blocks and a tank, decides to support them with the airplane present in zone 
17 (in this case, checking with the short ruler to determine if the combat zone is within the fighter's 
range is unnecessary), making the airplane engaged and flipping it over. They then roll two dice, 
needing a 4, 5, or 6 to hit. They roll and get  4    6  inflic5ng two losses. 
Now both sides remove their losses: the Axis removes one block, while the allied player engages a 
tank and removes it from the map, absorbing both losses—one for engaging it (i.e., flipping it to the 
side with the red stripe visible) and another for its elimina5on. (FIGURE 4) 
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The allied player con5nues the combat for the second round, using the second tank and the three 
blocks, once again without using the airplane; they roll   2    3    6   and inflicts one loss.  
The Axis, now leT with only one block, s5ll supported by a tank and airplane, rolls a single die and 
gets  4  and it inflicts a loss. Both players remove the losses again: they both turn the armor, 
absorbing one loss each. At this point, the allies stops the ongoing combat and also decides not to 
proceed with the other aRacks, removing the arrows and thus ending the impulse. (FIGURA 5)


FIRST TURN - IMPULSE 2 - AXIS 
The Axis player moves his two aircraT, the one engaged from zone 17 in Sardinia (zone 20) and the 
one unengaged in Tunisia (zone 17). He moves the tank engaged from zone 16 to zone 17, leaving 
only one block to defend zone 16. He does not set up any combats and passes. (FIGURA 6) 

5



1943 1945

FIRST TURN - IMPULSE 3 - ALLIED 
He does not make any movements, limi5ng himself to se`ng up the aRacks using the arrows. (FIGURA 
6 BIS) 

He starts the aRacks from zone 18, using the tank and three blocks; again, he rolls three dice and 
gets   2    2    5   inflic5ng a loss; the Axis responds with a single die, not supported by aircraT, and 
rolls a  6  inflic5ng a loss on the allies. The losses are removed: the allies engages a tank, absorbing a 
loss. The Axis, which cannot retreat to zone 17 to absorb the loss in turn since the zone is at 
maximum allowed stacking (6 between blocks and tokens, for5fied lines do not count), must 
eliminate the block. The allies occupies the conquered zone, bringing in forces from all the zones 
involved in the combat. (FIGURA 7) 
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Before passing the impulse to the opponent, he uses his two fighters to bomb the opposing fighter in 
Sardinia, in zone 20. He uses the short ruler to check that Sardinia is reachable by the fighters, and 
aTer the successful verifica5on (FIGURA 8) 

He turns both of them to show that they are engaged; he rolls two dice that hit on a score of 5 or 6; 
he gets a  2  and  5   inflic5ng a loss. 
The Axis fighter, which cannot react and therefore does not roll any dice, must absorb the loss. Since 
it is already engaged and cannot retreat, it is destroyed and removed from the game. A control 
marker for the Axis is placed on Sardinia (which is s5ll under Axis control but has no more forces). 
(FIGURA 8bis) 
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FIRST TURN - IMPULSE 4 - AXIS 
The last impulse, the fourth, belongs to the Axis. He moves the fighter from zone 17 to Sicily (zone 
14) and, since he has naval transports available, he moves the elite unit from Sicily to zone 17, 
consuming one and upda5ng the track. The unengaged allied aircraT, since the movement ends in a 
zone within its range, decides to intercept it; it engages the aircraT and rolls a die, ge`ng  3  which is 
not sufficient to destroy the elite unit. The turn ends. (FIGURA 9) 

SECOND TURN - REINFORCEMENTS AND CONVERSION 
The red token on the turn track moves to turn 2. All engaged tokens are turned to their normal side, 
and both players roll a die for ini5a5ve: the allies rolls   5  and the Axis  4  - The ini=a=ve is with the 
allies, who decides to let the Axis start the first impulse. 
At this point, the players bring in their reinforcements and convert their forces. The  allies, who has 4 
blocks available, as indicated by the Turn Track, brings in one in zone 19 and three in zone 18. The 
Axis has three reinforcement blocks but only has two off-map available; one is placed in zone 03, to 
the north (not visible in the image), and one in Sicily. (FIGURA 10) 
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Both players can proceed with the conversions: the Axis does not convert anything; the allies 
converts one block with an aircraT in zone 16, converts one block with paratroopers and one block 
with a tank in zone 18, and converts one block with another tank in zone 19. (FIGURA 11) 

SECOND TURN - IMPULSE 1 - AXIS 
The Axis player does not make any movements and tries to aRack the English fleet with the U-boat; 
to inflict a loss and engage it, so it cannot make landings in the current turn, he must roll a 5 or 6 on 
the die. He rolls  4  which is not sufficient. The U-boat, since it has made the aRempt, is engaged and 
is turned. The Axis player thus finishes, and the impulse passes to the allied player. (FIGURA 12) 
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SECOND TURN - IMPULSE 2 - ALLIED 
Second impulse; the allied player engages the English fleet to land in Sardinia, placing the aRack 
arrow in posi5on next to the two blocks designated for the landing, coming from zone 15. He places 
the remaining arrows to aRack Tunisia. (FIGURA 13) 

He begins the landing aRempt; the Italian fleet chooses not to aRempt to intercept the landing; it 
could also play a "Reinforcements" event that allows placing two blocks in any zone, even during the 
opponent's impulse; but it decides to save it for the future. Since there are no Axis forces to counter 
the landing, the allies does not roll the die for the bombardment and simply occupies Sardinia with 
the two blocks, which land undisturbed. He decides not to proceed with the aRack toward Tunisia; 
he removes the aRack arrows and passes the impulse, the third, to the Axis player.  (FIGURA 14) 
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SECOND TURN - IMPULSE 3 - AXIS 
The Axis player uses his two transport points to move a tank and the elite unit from Tunisia to Sicily, 
thus consuming all his naval transports for that turn; the allied player could aRempt to intercept the 
naval transports with his aircraT but decides not to do so. The Axis also moves the fighter present in 
Sicily to zone 11. He does not set up any aRacks and thus ends the impulse. (FIGURA 15) 

SECOND TURN - IMPULSE 4 - ALLIED 
Fourth and final impulse of the second turn, allied player. He moves one of the two blocks in Sardinia 
and occupies Corsica, which has no Axis forces in defense. He moves an aircraT from zone 19 to 
Sardinia, posi5oning it so that Sicily is within its range. He also uses a naval transport to move the 
paratroopers from zone 16 to Sardinia. He engages the American fleet and sets up a landing in Sicily, 
using a tank from zone 16 and three blocks from zone 19. ATer that, he reposi5ons the aircraT in 
zones 16 and 18 so that they can reach Sicily, intending to bomb it. He also moves the tank from zone 
19 to zone 18. (FIGURA 16) 
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He proceeds with the bombing aRempt using the two aircraT from zones 16 and 18 toward Sicily; he 
engages them and rolls two dice, ge`ng   1   and  4 ; Since there are no enemy aircraT or defensive 
lines, a roll of 4 is sufficient to inflict a loss on the Axis, which removes a block from Sicily. (FIGURA 17) 

Before the allies proceeds with the landing, the Axis player plays a "Reinforcements" event and 
places two new blocks in Sicily. (FIGURA 18) 

The allies can proceed with the landing; first, he rolls a die for the bombing of the fleet; he gets  6  
inflic5ng a loss; the Axis immediately removes one of its blocks from Sicily. Then the allies engages 
the fighter and the paratroopers in Sardinia to support the landing. He rolls 4 dice, one for the 
paratrooper and three for the blocks, which, thanks to the support of the tank and the aircraT, must 
roll 4, 5, or 6 on the die to inflict losses. With the roll, he gets a   4    1    3    5  and inflicts 2 losses. 
The Axis, which is leT with two blocks supported by a tank, engages the aircraT present in zone 11 to 
support the combat, so the two blocks must also roll 4-5-6 on the die to inflict losses; he rolls and 
gets a   5    6   and inflicts two losses on the allies.  
Both players remove the losses; the allied player removes two blocks, and the Axis player removes 
one block and engages, turning the elite unit, thus absorbing another loss. Since he played a 
"Reinforcements" event in this impulse, the Axis player cannot play another event that would 
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automa5cally end the combat (Stop BaRle). Since he is tenacious, he decides not to retreat, and the 
game proceeds to the second round. (FIGURA 19) 

Second round: the allied player, who is leT with one block and the paratrooper supported by the 
tank and the aircraT, rolls two dice, aiming for 4-5-6 again. He rolls and gets a    5    6  , inflic5ng two 
more losses on the Axis. 
The Axis, with one block and the elite force now engaged and considered as a block, rolls two dice, 
s5ll supported by the tank and the aircraT. He gets a   6   and inflicts another loss on the allies. 
The allies, to absorb this loss, turns the tank, engaging it; the Axis also engages its tank and 
addi5onally withdraws all its forces from Sicily, sending them to zones 11 and 13, thus absorbing the 
last loss. The combat ends, and the allies occupies Sicily. (FIGURA 20) 
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At this point, the allies plays a reinforcement event and places three blocks in Sicily. Since it is the 
end of the turn and the allies occupies a zone in Italy, the Italian forces in play (the fleet and the tank; 
the aircraT had already been destroyed) are removed from the board. (FIGURA 21) 

The turn ends, the red token is moved forward on the turn track, and play proceeds to the third 
turn…  
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